About the Research Program

DFCM’s Research Program was established in 1995 to create a critical mass of Family Medicine researchers; provide faculty with protected research time; develop research excellence and productivity; and build an infrastructure to support research. Our program includes:

  • An Research Investigator Awards Program that includes funding for Clinician Scientists, Clinician Investigators, New Investigators, and Graduate Research Studies;
  • Research mentorship opportunities;
  • A range of resources and services including, grant application preparation/submission, grant budget preparation/administration, biostatistical/methodological support, and an internal voluntary grant application review process, and Qualtrics survey software;
  • DFCM’s Practice-Based Research Network, UTOPIAN: a platform on which DFCM faculty and its learners from all sites can become involved in clinically important research that will have direct impact on the care of their patients.

 

Research Program

Name

Position

Email

Phone #

Room #

Faculty

       
Dr. Peter Selby Interim Vice-Chair, Research and Advocacy peter.selby@camh.ca    
Dr. Rahim Moineddin Senior Biostatistician rahim.moineddin@utoronto.ca 416-946-5860 358
Dr. Michelle Greiver UTOPIAN Director michelle.greiver@nygh.on.ca

416-978-5113 (DFCM)

416-756-648 (NYGH)

348

Administration

       
Julia Baxter Program Coordinator, Research and Advocacy family.healthcare@utoronto.ca 416-978-7951 354
Bojana Petrovic CanImpact Research Associate dfcm.cancerresearch@utoronto.ca 416-978-7518 350
Chris Meaney Biostatistician christopher.meaney@utoronto.ca 416-978-5602 346

 

University of Toronto Practice-Based Research Network (UTOPIAN)

Name

Position

Email

Phone #

Room #

Faculty

       
Dr. Michelle Greiver UTOPIAN Director michelle.greiver@nygh.on.ca

416-978-5113 (DFCM)

416-756-648 (NYGH)

348
Dr. Andrew Pinto  UTOPIAN Associate Director - Clinical Research andrew.pinto@utoronto.ca    

Dr. Karen Tu

UTOPIAN Associate Director - POPLAR Data Platform k.tu@utoronto.ca    

Administration

       
Tom Rylett UTOPIAN Research Project Manager dfcm.utopian@utoronto.ca    

Jianmin (Jamie) Wang

UTOPIAN Research Coordinator utopian.research@utoronto.ca    

Giles Pereira

UTOPIAN Administrative Assistant admin.utopian@utoronto.ca    

Babak Aliarzadeh

UTOPIAN Data Analytics Manager babaka@cpcssn.org    

Greg Clark

POPLAR IT Specialist gregw.clark@mail.utoronto.ca    

Aashka Bhatt

Research Officer, DAC

aashka.bhatt@utoronto.ca    

Gurnoor Brar

Research Officer, Asthma Registry gurnoor.brar@utoronto.ca    

Renata Musa

Research Officer, SPIDER renata.musa@utoronto.ca    

Jemisha Apajee

UTOPIAN Data Analyst jemisha.apajee@utoronto.ca    

Sumeet Kalia

UTOPIAN Data Analyst

sumeet.kalia@nygh.on.ca    

Ellen Stephenson

Postdoctoral Research Fellow ellen.stephenson@utoronto.ca