FAQ and Contact Us

UTOPIAN Team contact details

Dr. Michelle Greiver

Gordon F. Cheesbrough Research Chair in Family & Community Medicine (NYGH)

UTOPIAN Director

michelle.greiver@nygh.on.ca

416-978-5113 (DFCM)

416-756-648 (NYGH)

Dr. Andrew Pinto UTOPIAN Associate Director - Clinical Research andrew.pinto@utoronto.ca
Dr. Karen Tu UTOPIAN Associate Director - POPLAR Data Platform k.tu@utoronto.ca
Tom Rylett

UTOPIAN Research Project Manager

(primary contact)

dfcm.utopian@utoronto.ca

416-978-7017

Jianmin (Jamie) Wang UTOPIAN Research Coordinator utopian.research@utoronto.ca
Giles Pereira UTOPIAN Administrative Assistant

admin.utopian@utoronto.ca

416-978-7017

Babak Aliarzadeh UTOPIAN Data Analytics Manager babaka@cpcssn.org
Greg Clark POPLAR IT Specialist gregw.clark@mail.utoronto.ca
Aashka Bhatt Research Officer, DAC

aashka.bhatt@utoronto.ca

416-978-7017

Gurnoor Brar Research Officer, Asthma Registry gurnoor.brar@utoronto.ca 
Renata Musa Research Officer, SPIDER renata.musa@utoronto.ca
Jemisha Apajee UTOPIAN Data Analyst jemisha.apajee@utoronto.ca

Sumeet Kalia

UTOPIAN Data Analyst

sumeet.kalia@nygh.on.ca

Ellen Stephenson Postdoctoral Research Fellow ellen.stephenson@utoronto.ca
Conrad Pow Sr. Project Manager - National Diabetes Repository

conrad.pow@nygh.on.ca

647-335-1939 

For more information about the SPOR Network in Chronic Diseases - Diabetes Action Canada see: http://diabetesaction.ca/

For more information about SPIDER: A Structured Process Informed by Data, Evidence & Research see: https://www.spiderdeprescribing.com/

Mailing address:

North York General Hospital, Research & Innovation
UTOPIAN
4001 Leslie Street, Room LE-140
Toronto, ON  M2K 1E1

 

UTOPIAN Scientists

Dr. Debra Butt debra.butt@utoronto.ca
Dr. Noah Crampton noah.crampton@uhn.ca
Dr. Catherine Ji catherine.ji@uhn.ca
Dr. Braden O’Neill braden.oneill@unityhealth.to
Dr. Michelle Greiver michelle.greiver@nygh.on.ca
Dr. Karen Tu k.tu@utoronto.ca
Dr. Andrew Pinto andrew.pinto@utoronto.ca

Frequently Asked Questions 

How can my project become a UTOPIAN project?

Read criteria and complete UTOPIAN project application form, more information available in section Getting UTOPIAN support.

What support can UTOPIAN provide for my project?

UTOPIAN support can vary depending on the nature of the project.

For example, practice facilitators can help with administrative workload including completing REB applications and site/practice/patient recruitment. The Idea to Proposal Course can help you develop research skills necessary for conducting your own research project. Contributing data to the Data Safe Haven is an easy way to allow your data to be used for research. Completing Research Ready self-assessment tool might be a good start for UTOPIAN to be able to assess your needs and gaps and to help.

Can you help me with research protocol/ REB application?

Yes, we can provide UTOPIAN members with methodological help for protocol development for UTOPIAN projects and project facilitators can help with completing REB application to UofT and DFCM affiliated hospitals.

For more resources about UofT REB approval through DFCM visit DFCM Research Program website's section on Services for Researchers.

How much does it cost to use UTOPIAN?

Costs depend on nature of the project and how much resources are required. See our fee schedule for more information.

Does UTOPIAN provide any funding?

UTOPIAN provides support through core staff members, no monetary funding is currently available.

I have a clinical/research question and want to get involved in primary care research but I am lacking skills to actually conduct research. How do I get started?

We are happy to discuss with you. Please email dfcm.utopian@utoronto.ca. We can also connect you with an experienced academic who is interested in the topic.