DFCM Researchers Recognized by the College of Physicians of Canada

Oct 23, 2018

Three University of Toronto Department of Family and Community Medicine faculty members received Lifetime Achievement Awards in Family Medicine Research from the College of Family Physicians of Canada (CFPC). These awards, according to the CFPC, "honour individuals who were trailblazers and leaders in family medicine research, and who made a significant career contribution to family medicine research during their active career years". Congratulations to all.


Dr. Eva Grunfeld

CFPC Lifetime Achievement Award in Family Medicine Research

Dr. Eva Grunfeld is the Director, Knowledge Translation Research, Health Services Research program, the Ontario Institute for Cancer Research. She is also the Giblon Professor and Vice Chair, Research and Advocacy Program, at the University of Toronto Department of Family and Community Medicine. Dr. Grunfeld is a Professor with University of Toronto’s Dalla Lana School of Public Health as well as a Professor, Institute for Health Policy, Management and Evaluation with the University of Toronto. Her research interests include health service delivery, knowledge translation, screening, cancer care, chronic diseases, and multi-method research. Dr. Grunfeld’s research focuses on the evaluation of access to and quality of cancer care across the cancer control continuum (from screening to end-of-life care). Her research goal is to accelerate the translation of research into practice so that it is implemented throughout the cancer control system to benefit the population.






Dr. June Carroll

CFPC Lifetime Achievement Award in Family Medicine Research

Dr. June Carroll is a Professor and Clinician Scientist and the Sydney G Frankfort Chair of Family Medicine in the Department of Family and Community Medicine, University of Toronto, and a family physician at the Granovsky-Gluskin Family Medicine Centre, Sinai Health System. She is also a Co-Founding Director of GEC-KO: Genetics Education Canada: Knowledge Organization. Dr. Carroll’s research interests include genetics and genomics, health service delivery and knowledge translation. Her research focuses on the development, evaluation and implementation of practice tools and knowledge translation strategies to enhance primary care practice in genomic medicine.







Dr. Reg Perkin

CFPC Lifetime Achievement Award in Family Medicine Research

Dr. Reginald Perkin was the first Chair with the Department of Family and Community Medicine when it was founded in 1969. He helped to create and develop the department, implementing a two-year residency program to replace the one-year rotating internship and provide training in primary care and community experience, and also initiating undergraduate training in family medicine. Dr. Perkin was the third Executive Director of the College of Family Physicians of Canada, serving from 1985 - 1996. He oversaw the development of the Four Principles of Family Medicine and founded the Section of Researchers. The Research and Education Foundation of the CFPC, now known as the Foundation for Advancing Family Medicine, was established during his tenure. Dr. Perkin developed an interest in family medicine due to the influence of his own family doctor and the first aid training experience in Scouting. He completed his undergraduate and two years postgrad training at the University of Toronto.






    Other CFPC Award Winners of Note:

  • Dr. Warren McIsacc: The College of Family Physicians of Canada Outstanding Family Medicine Research Article

  • Dr. Karen Tu: The College of Family Physicians of Canada Award of Excellence.

  • Dr. James Pencharz:  The College of Family Physicians of Canada Award of Excellence                                              


Congratulations to all!

Please visit the CFPC Awards of Recognition page for more information.